Reviews, Uncategorized

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

IMG_3929_editedBook: Stardust

Author: Neil Gaiman

Pages: 194 (Paperback)

Genre: Fantasy

Age Recommendation: 12+

Originally Published: 01/02/1999

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780755322824

★★★★★


“There was once a young man who wished to gain his Heart’s Desire.”

Stardust is a fantasy adventure about a young man named Tristran. Tristran lives in the small village of Wall which borders the magical land of Faerie. To win the heart of his beloved, Tristran sets off on an adventure through the land of Faerie to retrieve a fallen star. To his surprise, the star isn’t just a lump of rock, it is a woman and Tristran is not the only person hunting for the star. A witch needs the heart of a star to achieve eternal youth and the King’s sons need her powers to secure the throne of Stormhold.

When Stardust the movie came out in 2007 I loved it. To this day, it’s still one of my go-to movies for cheering me up on rainy days or when I am feeling ill. When I started to read the book by Neil Gaiman I couldn’t help but try and compare it to the film that I love so much.  But what surprised me most is even though the book is very different, I loved it even more but for different reasons.

For me, the biggest difference is the film is quite exciting and Disney-fied, whereas the book has a much darker tone. Whilst it is still full of magic it definitely feels as if it is aimed at a much older audience.

IMG_3930_edited.jpg

Before I started to read Stardust I expected it to be like any other fantasy novel but in fact, it is charming and whimsical like a good old fashioned fairy tale. It is beautiful.

Reading about the land beyond the wall reminded me of stepping through the wardrobe into Narnia, or falling down a rabbit hole into Wonderland, slipping through the invisible barrier of platform 9 ¾.  You discover a magical world that makes you crave adventures beyond the wall. From the moment Tristran set off on his adventure I couldn’t put the book down.

There are heroes, villains, unicorns, witches, love, suspense and endless wit. I wanted the book to last forever.

Leave a Reply

