baking, Uncategorized

Baking Easter Cupcakes!

Easter is fast approaching so, with a spoon in one hand and my camera in the other, I spent the afternoon baking some easy, Easter-themed cupcakes.

Ingredients
(Makes 12)

-Cake
110g butter
110g caster sugar
110g plain flour
2 eggs
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp Lemon flavouring (optional)

-Icing
140g butter
300g icing sugar
Food colouring gel (optional)

 

To make my cupcakes, I started by putting some cake cases into cake trays. I wanted the cupcakes to be colourful so I chose to use pretty, blue polka-dot cases.

I then mixed all of the ingredients together in a mixing bowl. I added a little bit of lemon flavouring but you could always use something else like cocoa powder or vanilla flavouring.

I then divided the mixture between the cake cases. I put the trays in the oven and let the cakes bake at 160 degrees for 20-25 minutes until the sponge was golden.

 

To decorate the cupcakes, I mixed the butter and icing sugar together and added some yellow food colouring gel to make yellow butter icing.

And of course, they wouldn’t be Easter cupcakes without chocolate mini eggs!

Finally, I added a little sprinkle of pink sugar and left the icing to set…

IMG_3683_edited

The weather here in England is amazing at the moment – there’s blue skies, flowers everywhere and not a coat or umbrella in sight. It really feels like spring! It felt so nice to bake something sweet and colourful that reflected that. Plus, these cupcakes are delicious!

I hope you all have a lovely week!

Shannon

Leave a Reply

