Perhaps I’m too emotionally invested in Sophie and Billy’s relationship to give a totally unbiased review but I am going to give it a try…

 


Book: Always with LoveIMG_dtsmiq

Author: Giovanna Fletcher

Pages: 400 (paperback)

Genre: Romance

Age Recommendation: 15+

Published:02/06/2016

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781405919180

★★★★

Last year, I read Giovanna’s debut novel Billy & Me and loved every page. It was full of happiness and love just like her. I fell in love with the characters at the very beginning and found myself laughing and crying as the book went on.

When the sequel Always with Love was released in June, I couldn’t wait to add it to my TBR list and find out what is next for Sophie and Billy.

The events of Always with Love take place after the short story Christmas With Billy And Me. I haven’t actually read the short story but it wasn’t a problem, Giovanna finds subtle ways to get you all caught up without throwing too much information at you.

Since the first book, Sophie has got used to being the girlfriend of movie star Billy Buskin.
But when she and Billy take a trip to visit his family in Los Angeles, she isn’t prepared the chaos of Hollywood, the paparazzi and especially Billy’s mother. When Billy extends his stay in LA, Sophie returns home to Rosefont Hill alone. With everyone she cares about now moving forward, is Sophie finally ready to start chasing dreams of her own?

Always with Love is a light read that can make you laugh and cry. Whilst I didn’t enjoy the book quite as much as the first, I loved being back in little Rosefont Hill with the characters I love.

I was a little disappointed that Sophie and Billy go through another spat that is once again triggered by Billy’s career but I am very happy that sweet, selfless, Sophie toughens up and learns to start doing things for herself and her future. I hope that one day soon, we get to see more of Sophie and Billy!

shannon's signature

 

 

