baking, Blogmas, Uncategorized

Blogmas Day 5: Baking Mince Pies!

It’s Blogmas Day 5!

Mince pies are one of my favourite things about Christmas. I used to make them with my mum when I was really young but I haven’t made them in years! This Christmas I have decided to start making my own. So, I put on one of my favourite Christmas movies (Arthur Christmas!) and got baking!

To save time I bought some shortcrust pastry mix to make the pastry. I got the savory kind because I don’t like my mince pies to be too sweet.

I used butter to grease the tin. Then I rolled out the pastry to about 3mm thick and cut small circles to make the bases. I then spooned in a heaped teaspoon of mince pie filling into each one.

With the leftover pastry, I used little ChristmasΒ cookie cutters in the shape of stars, gingerbread men, trees and stockings to create festive toppers for each pie.

I brushed milk onto the exposed pastry and popped them into the oven at 200 degrees for 20 minutes. Once they were all golden, I left the pies to cool and sprinkled some icing sugar over them.

img_2661_edited

Baking mince pies is so easy and they look and taste lovely!

img_2676_edited

I hope you are all having a wonderful day!
Shannon

5 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 5: Baking Mince Pies!”

Leave a Reply

