Blogmas, Uncategorized

Blogmas Day 3: My Top 10 Favourite Holiday Movies

It’s Blogmas Day 3!

Today I thought I would share my top 10 favourite Christmas movies!

1. Love Actually
Set in the month leading up to Christmas, Love Actually is a cute little movie that tells a variety of intertwined tales about love. There is laughter, tears and lots of great Christmas songs to make you feel all cozy and festive! It’s a perfect movie to watch when you’re curled up on the sofa with a glass of wine and some festive treats. Every time I watch it I just don’t want it to end!

2. The Holiday
After bad break-ups, two women leading very different lifestyles in different countries decide to swap homes for the holidays. Both find the last thing they were expecting: a new romance to mend their broken hearts. It isn’t overwhelmingly festive so it is the kind of film you can keep watching until the new year. It is cute and heart-warming, perfect for a quiet, lazy evening.

3. The Santa Clause
This was my favourite Christmas film when I was growing up and I have to watch it every single year! Divorced dad Scott has custody of his son on Christmas eve. A boring night turns into an adventure when Scott accidentally kills a man in a Santa suit and is then magically transported to the North Pole. An elf explains that the Santa Clause states that Scott must take Santa’s place before the next Christmas arrives. The Santa Clause is full of fun, Disney magic! It is the perfect movie to make you feel all excited on Christmas Eve!

4. Arthur Christmas
This film answers one of the most important Frequently Asked (Christmas) Questions. How can Santa deliver presents to everyone around the world in just one night? The answer: With an army of elves and a high-tech operation set up beneath the North Pole. When Santa misses a child, his youngest son Arthur and Grandsanta take it upon themselves to save the day. Embracing the magic of Christmas, the pair use a traditional sleigh and reindeer to deliver the last present before the sun rises on Christmas morning! It’s hilarious, emotional and super cute.

5. Christmas with the Kranks
With their daughter away, the Kranks decide to avoid their Christmas-obsessed neighbours, take a cruise and skip Christmas altogether. It’s light-hearted and silly but a lot of fun and a perfect movie to have on whilst you bake Christmas treats, put up the tree or write out some Christmas cards!

6. Home Alone
You’ve probably seen Home Alone, right? A family accidentally leave 8-year-old troublemaker Kevin at home whilst they go on holiday. Kevin ends up spending his Christmas defending his family’s home from burglars. It’s brilliant and a lot of fun!

7. Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
You’ve probably seen this one too, right? Kevin gets on the wrong plane and ends up having the time of his life in New York City. Kevin discovers the Sticky Bandits (from the first movie) are on the loose and planning a holiday heist and he’s determined to be one step ahead. This one is even better than the first (in my opinion) and seeing New York at Christmas time makes me feel extra festive!

8. How The Grinch Stole Christmas
The live-action adaption of Dr Seuss’s book is one of my favourite Christmas films. The Grinch decides to ruin Christmas for the citizens of Whoville by stealing all of their holiday-related things but his plans are ruined when he meets little Cindy Lou Who who believes there is some good in The Grinch’s heart. It’s very funny, heart-warming and always leaves a smile on my face!

9. The Muppet Christmas Carol
My favourite Muppets movie. It’s a magical version of Charles Dickens’ classic tale full of fun, great songs, and all of my favourite muppets. Everytime I watch it it reminds me of being really young, so excited, waking up at 4am on Christmas morning, sitting in bed with my sister and watching movies until my mum woke up.

10. Elf
Elf is about a man who was raised as an elf at the North Pole and is then sent to the U.S. in search of his true identity. It’s so silly but that is why I love it. It’s such a perfect movie to watch with the whole family and lots of fun party foods to snack on!

What are your favourite holiday movies? I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas time. See you tomorrow!
Shannon

12 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 3: My Top 10 Favourite Holiday Movies”

  1. I love all of these movies!! I will literally watch Elf about 20 times before Christmas (bit of an exaggeration, but you get the point). I also watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation…I usually watch it on Christmas Eve. And I just watched Love Actually again…such a lovely movie 🙂 Awesome list!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

