Reviews, Uncategorized

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)

A review of A Series of Unfortunate Events #1 …
Book: The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)IMG_0254-001.JPG

Author: Lemony Snicket

Pages: 192 (paperback)

Genre: Children’s/ Young Adult Fiction

Age Recommendation: 11+ (It’s not for the squeamish)

Published: 03/09/2012

Publisher: Egmont

ISBN: 9781405266062

★★★★

“In this book, not only is there no happy ending, there is no happy beginning and very few happy things in the middle.”

I have wanted to read A Series of Unfortunate Events since I first saw the film in 2004. It has taken me 12 years but I can finally say I am reading them!

Last year I received the first 6 books in the series. At this point, I had no idea that there are 13 books all together! Each book is a pretty similar size of around 200-300 pages and an  easy read so they are perfect little books to read when you have a busy schedule!

A Series of Unfortunate Events tells the story of three children Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire. Violet is 14 years old and loves inventing things. Klaus is 12 and loves to read. Sunny is a baby who cannot talk yet and loves to bite things. In The Bad Beginning, the children become orphans after a tragic fire and are sent to live with Count Olaf who plots to steal their inheritance.

The book has been written as if narrated by the author with formal language and regular intrusive commentary that made me laugh out loud throughout. The book is a bit darker than most children’s books but it’s also funny, tense and really entertaining to read. I loved reading this book far more than I thought I would and I am now on the 6th book. I highly recommend them if you enjoy children’s lit and don’t have a lot of time to read a bigger novel!
shannon's signature

10 thoughts on “The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)”

    1. I love the relationship between the siblings too, especially as I have a lot of siblings! The fact that you can’t place the story in a specific time makes it feel really magical to me 🙂

      Like

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve read these books, but I really loved them. You’re right, they are darker than most children’s fiction, and I think that’s why I liked them.

    I love reading reviews for books I’d almost forgotten about. I might have to revisit this series some day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

