Uncategorized

A Small (But Beautiful) Book Haul

This month I have made a small (and long overdue) change to my bookshelves… 
When I was in school, we didn’t read many classic books. We read The Tempest by Shakespeare, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and An Inspector Calls by John Boynton Priestley. We always studied plays, short stories, and poetry (I loved it but there was not a lot of variety). Since I didn’t study English Literature in college or university, I am ashamed to say I still haven’t read many classics. But this is going to change!!!

For Christmas, I received a Waterstones voucher from my Grandparents. I spent hours online scrolling through lists of YA fiction that I could buy before I realised that there is a whole section of classics that I have been ignoring. So, I asked my family for recommendations and looked through book blogs until I had decided on 3 classics to start my collection!



1. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Harper Collins)


After a recent binge on 5 1/2 seasons of Pretty Little Liars, mystery might just be my new favourite genre. And Then There Were None  was originally published in 1939 and is the world’s bestselling mystery novel. That is why I chose to add this to my shelf and I can’t wait to start reading it!

2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Roads Classics)


This month I have been helping to organise a 1920s jazz night for charity. We’re having live jazz and everyone will be dressed up in 1920s costumes. Throughout the planning process, The Great Gatsby has been mentioned so many times! I had heard of it of course but sadly I have not read the book or seen the film adaption. Written and set in the 1920s, the book illustrates America during the Roaring Twenties and the Jazz Age. For this reason, plus a recommendation, this seemed like an obvious choice and the biggest decision I had to make was which cover I wanted! I opted for this gorgeous golden eye design and I am so happy that I did. I have already started reading The Great Gatsby and I am really enjoying it so far!

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (Knickerbocker Classics)


I am ashamed to say that I haven’t read this one before. I haven’t even seen any of the film adaptions. First published in 1813, Pride and Prejudice is one of the most popular novels in English literature. I feel like I should have read this one already so this was another easy choice for me. I chose this beautiful flexibound that looked lovely online but 100 times better in real life. It even has a gold elastic closure that I am very excited about! 

I am so proud of myself for trying something new and I can’t wait to tell you all what I think of the books!
shannon's signature

 

12 thoughts on “A Small (But Beautiful) Book Haul”

Leave a Reply

