Reviews, Uncategorized

Billy and Me

A review of Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher…


Book: Billy and MeIMG_0213-001.JPG

Author: Giovanna Fletcher

Pages: 402 (Paperback)

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Age Recommendation: 18+

Published: 23/5/2013

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9781405909952

★★★★

“I think it’s funny how life can lead you down certain paths which you wouldn’t have taken otherwise.”

Over the last two weeks, I have had next to no access to the Internet. On one hand this was a disaster because I couldn’t do much coursework and I couldn’t post on my blog. On the other hand, this was a blessing because it dragged me out of my reading slump and I am an active bookworm once again! I love Gi and the rest of the Fletcher family so over Christmas, I decided to ask for some of Gi’s books and having no Internet has given me a perfect opportunity to start reading them.

Billy and Me is the story of shy Sophie May who loves living in her little village and working in the local tea shop. Her life is turned upside down when she meets famous actor and heartthrob Billy Buskin. After shying away from attention for years, Billy’s ambitious and glamorous lifestyle whisks Sophie away from the comfort of her life and into the spotlight.

I found Billy and Me to be a very light, easy read. It was not overly romantic or too dramatic, it was simply a cute story that gave me all the warm feelings and a sense of escapism that I look for in women’s romance fiction. The plot is beautiful, enjoyable and had me both laughing and crying throughout. The characters are lovable and well developed and I found myself really caring about Sophie and the emotional journey she goes through. And on top of all of that, you get a little insight into the film industry and life in the spotlight! (As a media student, I found this aspect of the book  really enjoyable!)

Overall I feel that this fun lighthearted read is a great debut novel and I am excited to read more of Gi’s books!
shannon's signature

Leave a Reply

