A review of Attachments by Rainbow Rowell


Book: AttachmentsIMG_0280-001.JPG

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Pages: 368 (Paperback)

Genre: Young Adult

Age Recommendation: 15+

Published: 2/2/2012

Publisher: Orion

ISBN: 9781409120537

★★★★

“Do you believe in love at first sight?”… “Do you believe in love before that?”

Attachments is a story about the quiet and caring Lincoln, whose job is to read flagged emails at a newspaper company. Set during the turn of the century when the internet was still a novelty, Lincoln begins to read the exchanges between Beth and Jennifer. Driven by his curiosity, Lincoln knows he should be reporting the women but likes them too much to interfere. But can you fall in love with somebody you haven’t actually met?

Attachments has been written in third person and includes regular email exchanges between Beth and Jennifer. For a while, I found this difficult to process and regularly had to go back and read previous emails to remind me what has happened to which woman. But like all of Rainbow Rowell’s novels, I soon found myself captivated by the lovable, quirky characters. Despite the fact that the characters are a little older than most characters that the author has created, I still found them very funny and relatable. I really cared about these people and I just had to know if everyone would get their happy ending. When I reached the ending, it felt a little rushed but that didn’t matter to me. I loved the middle far too much to mind.

This novel was an easy read with a great plot that kept me hooked until the very last page. Full of laughter and romance, Attachments made me smile and feel all of those fuzzy feelings that Rainbow’s books can often give you.

 

shannon's signature

