Uncategorized

My Top 5 Reads in 2015

In 2015, I read a lot of books. I didn’t get to read as many as I would have liked, but I definitely discovered some new favourites! Here is my top 5…

5. The Maze Runner – James Dashner

The Maze Runner was a book I’d wanted to read for ages and just never had the chance. Last year my boyfriend bought it for me in a Boxing Day sale on paperbacks along with The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Gone Girl. I am so glad he did. The Maze Runner follows the story of teenage boy Thomas who wakes up in the middle of a maze knowing only his name and that he may have been there before. This book is easy to read and short enough not to take up too much of your time. It is exciting and tense and made me wish I could read more the second I finished it. I recommend it to anyone over the age of 10, especially if you like books such as The Hunger Games or Maximum Ride. 

4. XODUS – K.J. McPike
XODUS was introduced to me by the author K.J. McPike. This urban fantasy book is the first installment of a planned YA trilogy following the life of teenage girl Lali who discovers she can astral project. This novel had me hooked from the very first chapter and I did not look away until I had finished it. It’s an easy read with an exciting storyline and lovable characters. I can’t wait to read the next installment!

3. Why Not Me? – Mindy Kaling
Why Not Me? is the second book written by American writer, actress and comedian, Mindy Kaling. I fell in love with Mindy watching her show The Mindy Project and I have recently decided she would be a pretty amazing person to know. Why Not Me? is a hilarious and inspiring insight into Mindy’s very busy and pretty surreal life. It’s a bit more mature than her first book, offering stories of love, friendship, every day worries and finding confidence in the question “Why not me?”. I definitely recommend this book to fans of Mindy and females aged 15+

2. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
Eleanor & Park is a young adult novel written by Rainbow Rowell. Set in America in the 1980s, this book follows the relationship between teens Eleanor and Park. Each chapter in this book shares both Eleanor and Park’s points of view as the meet each other for the first time and romance starts to blossom. It’s a sweet, heartwarming and emotional read. I recommend it to Rainbow’s fans and anyone over the age of 15 who likes a teen romance novel with mixtapes and comic books rather than vampires and near death experiences.

1. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
And now for my favourite book this year. Gone Girl. Completely different from the Young Adult, urban fantasies I am normally reading – this thriller was a crazy adventure that has left a hole in my life that only the film adaption is able to fill. Nick Dunne’s wife Amy disappeared on the morning of their 5th anniversary and the media are starting to suspect he might have had something to do with it. The first half of the book alternates between Nick’s point of view and Amy’s diary entries and but something doesn’t quite add up. Is Nick innocent? This book had me hooked (and quite frankly a little scared) from the start. I highly recommend it to anyone over the age of 16 who doesn’t mind a book that is going to make them extremely stressed until the very last page.

shannon's signature

5 thoughts on “My Top 5 Reads in 2015”

Leave a Reply

