“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies” George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons. 

This year I read at least 26 books and each of those little lives I lived were pretty amazing. Here’s a breakdown of my year in books…

January
1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
2. My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
3. Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick

February
4. The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Night-Time by Mark Haddon
5. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

March
6. Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle
7. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

April
8. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
9. Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story 
by David Levithan
10. Eleanor & Park 
by Rainbow Rowell

May (A.k.a. the month when I could not, and would not, stop reading)
11.City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
12. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
13. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

June (A.k.a the month when I finally ran out of books to read on my shelf)
14.City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
15. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan
16. The Death Cure by James Dashner

July (A.k.a. the month of Gone Girl withdrawals)
17. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
18. Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick
(And possibly about 10 The Walking Dead comic books but I lost count)

August
19. Orange is the new Black by Piper Kerman
20. Are you there, God? It’s Me, Margaret? by Judy Blume
21. Deenie by Judy Blume
22. Fans of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

September
23. My Secret Rocksta
r Boyfriend by Eleanor Wood
24. XODUS by K.J. McPike

October – November
(At least 5 non-fiction books for university. I had no time to read anything on my bookshelf at all for 2 months, but I did learn a lot about being a screenwriter in Hollywood and film marketing)

December
(Again, I spent a lot of time reading books for university! I did have time to read 2 books by one of my favourite screenwriters/actresses about her life and career which were both hilarious and super relevant to my course so I’m quite proud of my December reads…)
25. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And other concerns 
by Mindy Kaling
26. Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling


Overall, I think that 2015 has been a great year for reading. I discovered a few new favourite authors. I finished a series that had been a part of my life for 6 years. I finished books months ago that have left a little hole in my life that might never be filled by another book ever, but that’s okay. For the first time in at least 3 years, there came a time when I had read every book on my shelf and I had to rush out and buy more. Of course, that’s not the case anymore. My ‘To Read List’ for 2016 is pretty long already and I cannot wait to get started!

See my top 5 reads of 2015 here

shannon's signature

