Beyond Wonderland

Going on an adventure - train picture

This week I went on an adventure to London to work in Publishing & Marketing for a week! It was my first time getting a train on my own and the longest I’d ever spent in London so it was super scary.

Back in April I shared an interview with my cousin who is currently working at Macmillan Children’s Books and I was lucky enough to be able to work with her department for a week and see what it was like for myself!

During my time with Macmillan I got to complete lots of different tasks from mailing out books for review, sending marketing materials to schools and libraries, create Q&A sheets, Fact Files and got to do lots of research on social media which was great fun (although now I feel like I know way too much about far too many people)! I was also lucky enough to attend meetings and hear about lots of great upcoming books but I am sworn to secrecy so unfortunately I can’t share that part of my adventure with you! 😉

Embedded image permalink
On my adventure I also got to send out these gorgeous Fangirl necklaces from YALC to some lucky Rainbow Rowell fans – it’s strangely exciting seeing people share pictures of their prize on social media because I’m like “AHH I SENT THAT” 😀

cub scouts goodies
On Thursday I got to be a real adult and attend a networking event – The Cubs are currently celebrating their 100th birthday and I was lucky enough to attend their party in the Tiger Territory at London Zoo! Free drinks, nibbles and 3 beautiful tigers made wearing the neckerchief quite fun!

DSC_0048_20150801120924139
Then there is the matter of “payment”. Working with Macmillan was a lot of fun so I didn’t mind doing it for free but I am super excited about the 8 new books that have just been added to my ‘To Read’ list! Look out for the reviews over the next few months of the following books!

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
My Secret Rockstar Boyfriend by Eleanor Wood
Thirteen by Tom Hoyle
Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
Massive by Julia Bell
Deenie by Judy Blume
Are you there, God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
and finally, the book MKB are very excited about…
Fans of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

I really enjoyed my adventures in London and learned so much about all the stages of releasing a book. Unfortunately scoliosis doesn’t agree with being sat at a desk all week and I will now be spending the next 3 days in bed until my back recovers but at least I have plenty of books to keep me busy! 😀

