Reviews

The Death Cure

A review of The Death Cure by James Dashner…

Book: The Death CureIMG_0259-001.JPG

Author: James Dashner

Pages: 336 (Paperback)

Genre: Young Adult/ Sci-Fi/ Post-Apocalyptic

Age Recommendation: 12+

Published: 05/04/2012

Publisher: Chicken House Ltd

ISBN: 9781908435200

★★★★

“I don’t think there is a right or wrong anymore. Only horrible and not-quite-so-horrible.”

(*SPOILERS* – The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials spoilers)

The Trials are over and WICKED have collected all the information they can. Now it is up to the Gladers to help complete the blueprint for the cure with one final test. Thomas has remembered more than anybody at WICKED could have foreseen. He knows they cannot be trusted. With the Gladers divided, can they all make it?


After thoroughly enjoying the first two novels in The Maze Runner trilogy, I could not wait to start reading the final installment. Unlike the first two novels, it took me a lot longer to be pulled in to The Death Cure but soon enough I found myself half way through and really enjoying the story. With each book I could never understand where Thomas’s story could possibly go next and each time the author surprised me with more adventure, more action and an insight into the world outside the maze where it all began. Whilst The Death Cure was not my favourite novel in the series, I still felt it was a perfect end to Thomas’s story. I became so emotionally invested in Thomas’s world I’m actually sort of sad to have finished the trilogy but I am so happy I took the time to read them! I definitely recommend the books to anyone who likes YA/Post-apocalyptic novels. 

2 thoughts on “The Death Cure”

Leave a Reply

