A review of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell…

Book: FangirlIMG_0227-001.JPG

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Pages: 480 (Paperback)

Genre: Young Adult

Age Recommendation: 12+

Published: 30/01/2014

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

ISBN: 9781447263227

★★★★★

“Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and mildly socially retarded, I’m a complete disaster.” 

Cath and Wren are identical twin sisters who have always done everything together. That is until it was time for them to go off to university and Wren decided she didn’t want to be part of a pair anymore. She wants to meet boys, go out drinking and go wild. But for Cath, things aren’t that easy. Cath is shy and hides away in the fan fiction that she writes. It’s a world where she feels comfortable. Cath feels completely lost. She’s worried about her lonely dad that she left behind. She’s stuck with an abrupt room-mate and her charming boyfriend, a handsome writing partner and a professor who doesn’t understand fan-fiction. Cath has to decide whether she is ready to open herself up to new people, a new life and new love.

_________

The first book I’ve read in 2015 is a fantastic one. It’s not a particularly short novel and yet I managed to read it in a matter of days. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down.

As a 2nd year university student, the memory of first leaving home and having to live with hundreds of students is still fresh in my mind. I was so impressed at how perfect Rainbow Rowell’s portrayal the experience is. I’m very similar to Cath in a lot of ways. I never went to parties, never had much to drink, stayed in when everybody else was going out and never really connected with anybody else because of this. I think this is probably why I loved reading Fangirl so much. I just understood the character on so many levels.

Another great part of this book is there are little extracts of fanfiction the whole way through. It’s fanfiction based on a series of books about wizards and a magical school. Those books were made into movies and in the fourth movie all the guys had long hair! (Remind you of anything?!) Although it’s completely made up, it is so similar to Harry Potter there are little references the whole way through that made me laugh and this really made a great end to every chapter.

Finally, the characters are fantastic. The book is written so well that you start to feel like you know everyone and now I’ve finished the book, I sort of miss them!

 

I’d definitely recommend this to anyone like me who is a bit of a socially anxious bookworm. If you love Harry Potter fan-fiction this would be a great read! Or even just give it a go if you feel like reading a cute, funny romance novel!

