Book: Angus Thongs and Full-Frontal SnoggingAngus book cover

Author: Louise Rennison

Pages: 256 (Paperback)

Genre: Young Adult Humour / Epistolary Novel

Age Recommendation: 13+

Published: 01/08/2005

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

ISBN: 9780007218677

★★★★★

“When Uncle Eddie does his impression of ‘Like a Virgin’ it’s like Madonna is coming out of his body!’ Christ what an image.” 

Angus Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging is the first book in a series of 10 Young Adult novels written by Louise Rennison. Written as a series of short diary entries, the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson tell the story of lovable but extremely crazy Georgia Nicolson. In the first installment, you can read all about what her and her friends get up to at school, the troubles of finding something to wear at a teen fancy dress party, dilemmas with the family, how to entice boys, first kisses and how she copes with her Scottish wildcat, Angus.

__________

I had never heard of the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson until the release of the film Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging in 2008 which is based on the first 2 books in the series. I found the movie absolutely hilarious and I wanted to see what the books were like. At this point I was 13 years old and now, at nearly 20 I still read them over and over again. The only thing I regret is the fact me and my sister bought half the series each and now I’ve moved out I have let her keep the whole collection. I NEED to buy my own copies.

When I looked at the books online I noticed they often come under teen fiction but it’s definitely worth reading them even if you’re not in school anymore – it’s just so nice to read them and relate back to your 13 year old self and all the strange things you got up to in school. To this day I have read each book in the series at least twice. I have cried with laughter throughout every single one of them. Trust me – it’s even funnier when you find out that half the things that happen to Georgia actually happened to Louise Rennison!! Even most of the people are real. It is brilliant.

In this first book it’s mostly about falling in love, first kisses and Georgia’s close friends known as ‘the Ace Gang’. It’s a bit crazy at first as you try to get the hang of all the madness and the way that Georgia thinks, but once you catch on you cannot stop reading them. Georgia’s use of language is just as strange as she is. Each novel features a glossary to explain the meaning of some of her weirder phrases as well as concepts the people from outside of the UK might not understand e.g. celebrities or food. As you move on to later books the glossary lengthens and you get to read extra developments such as creative dance routines and what Georgia calls ‘The Snogging Scale’. This series is definitely worth a read. It is like Bridget Jones’s Diary for teens. The content is a little more mature with each book but each one is just as crazy and just as funny as the last.

